Musica nova: Zebra Trio

Mon 9 Feb 2015 / 7.30 p.m. / Camerata

Zebra Trio / Magnus Lindberg, piano

Musica nova Helsinki’s Artistic Director Anssi Karttunen brings his internationally-acclaimed Zebra Trio to Finland. The concert is part of the Klang series focusing on music composed in the 21st century. The other members of the Zebra Trio are Austrian Ernst Kovacic (violin) and Canadian Steven Dann (viola).

The concert will premier a work for violin and piano by Fred Lerdahl. Also on the programme will be Acequia Madre for viola and piano by Magnus Lindberg, played by Steven Dann and the composer. The Zebra Trio will also perform Miroslav Srnka’s and Rolf Wallin’s trio pieces. All works in the concert are composed especially for these performers.

Zebra Trio:
Ernst Kovacic, violin
Steven Dann, viola
Anssi Karttunen, cello

Magnus Lindberg, piano

Rolf Wallin: Sway for string trio
Magnus Lindberg: Acequia Madre for viola and piano
Fred Lerdahl: New Work for violin and cello (first performance)
Miroslav Srnka: The Tree of Heaven for string trio

Tickets 17,5 / 11,5 / 6,5€ (including a service charge) from Lippupalvelu or 15 / 10 / 5 € from the Helsinki Music Centre Service Desk.

The concert is organized by Musica nova Helsinki in association with Klang Concert Series.