Contemporary Music Across the Baltic Sea

Mon 1 Oct 2018 / 7.30 p.m. / Camerata


Baltic New Music Spectrum (Second Edition) is the cycle of seven concerts performed by NeoQuartet (originator of this project) in Russia, Denmark, Germany, Lithuania, Finland, Poland, and Estonia in period between May and November 2018.

The main idea of this project is to present the enormous variety and abundance of forms within contemporary music for string quartet genre. As a result, we can observe compositions intertwined with other arts such as theatre, video art, and dance. The performed compositions were selected to fully represent contemporary chamber music and its newest trends. New music for string quartet demands from artists not only playing their instruments, but also operating electronics, handling video, and performing theatrical gestures.

NeoQuartet (Polish string quartet specializing in performance of contemporary classical music) invited seven renowned composers for this project: Oleg Paiberdin (Russia), Simon Christensen (Denmark), Peter Helmut Lang (Germany), Juste Janulyte (Lithuania) , Anna Huuskonen (Finland), Wojtek Blecharz (Poland), and Mart-Matis Lill (Estonia).

Each of their compositions is unique, presents various technical approaches, creativity, and personal experiences and insights. Yet, there are two unifying factors for Baltic New Music Spectrum (Second Edition) namely: the Baltic Sea as the inspiration for the entire project and NeoQuartet as an industrious, forthcoming medium and one of the best European ensembles of contemporary music.

Adam Vilagi (FI): Hunger (2016)
Juste Janulyte (LT): Aria (2008)
Peter Helmut Lang (DE): Graffito (2018)
Mart-Matis Lill (ES): When the stones were soft (2015)
Anna Huuskonen (FI): Artificiel par nature (2018)

(Programme change: Oleg Paiberdin’s work will be replaced by a work by Estonian Mart-Matis Lill.)

Co-financed by the funds received from the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland.

Tickets 17,5 / 11 / 6 € (including a service charge) Ticketmaster or 15 / 10 / 5 € from the Helsinki Music Centre Service Desk.

Go to the NeoQuartet website