Mon 7 Nov 2011 / 6 p.m. / Camerata

Zagros / Piia Komsi

The Zagros Ensemble’s opening concert in the KLANG series presents a programme of contemporary Scandinavian music. The title of this concert, ‘Phantasmagoria’, is taken from the work of the same name by Danish composer Bent Sørensen. The name refers to a series of constantly shifting, imaginary, dreamlike images, and invites the listener to embark on an imaginary journey into the worlds these new works conjure up. Harri Vuori’s new work for soprano and wind trio will receive its world première. The voice works as a concert instrument with an exceptionally wide range of colours and textures, and the winds complement this with colours of their own. The soprano soloist in tonight’s concert is Piia Komsi.

Simon Steen-Andersen: Next to Beside Besides
Bent Sörensen: Phantasmagoria
Harri Vuori: New work (first performance)
Per Nørgård: Out of the Cradle Endlessely Rocking
Atli Ingolfsson: Metrique du cri

Tickets 15/10/5€ from Lippupiste or on the door.

Go to Zagros’ website