Opening Concert: Big Bang!

Mon 12 Sep 2011 / 8 p.m. / Camerata

Avanti! / defunensemble / Helsinki Chamber Choir / Finnish Soloists’ Association / Uusinta Chamber Ensemble / Zagros / Nils Schweckendiek, conductor

Big Bang! is the opening concert in the KLANG series and presents a programme of music composed since 2000. Featuring over thirty musicians, in this concert the participating ensembles will perform together and individually. The KLANG series brings together the foremost performers of contemporary music in Finland. Ensembles include Avanti!, defunensemble, the Helsinki Chamber Choir, the Sibelius Academy Department of Composition and Music Theory, the Finnish Soloists’ Association, the Uusinta Chamber Ensemble and Zagros.

Jukka Tiensuu: Hei! (2007)
Timothy Page: The Center Cannot Hold (2011) (first performance)
Enno Poppe: Holz (1999/2000)
Peter Ablinger: Studien nach der Natur (1995, 2002)
Pink Twins: Before Forever (2011) (first performance)
Misato Mochizuki: Voilages (2000)
Veli-Matti Puumala: Apostrophe (2005)
Beat Furrer: Voices-still (2000/2001)

The concert will be broadcast on Yle Radio 1,
Thu 15th Sept. 7.03 pm.

Tickets 15/10/5€ from Lippupiste or on the door.

Finnish Soloists’ Association
Helsinki Chamber Choir
Sibelius Academy Department of Composition and Music Theory
Uusinta Chamber Ensemble